Tehran IndexTehran Index
Live

Research layer for Iran's digital economy

Dashboard
Research
CompaniesSectorsEcosystemSignalsEvidenceInsights
Data products
App IndexForeign ExposureListed CompaniesThe Tehran IndexSector Briefing
Workspace
SearchWatchlistMy Desk
Governance
MethodologyScope & StandardsData termsAbout
TI Weekly. Five source-linked developments and one analysis note, every Friday.
Order a company dossier
Tehran IndexTehran Index
Tehran IndexTehran IndexMapping Iran’s Innovation Economy
Explore
CompaniesSectorsSignals
Standards
MethodologyScope & StandardsThe BenchmarkCorrectionsData termsPrivacyAboutInstitutional access
Contact
desk@tehranindex.comLinkedIn

Tehran Index is not affiliated with the Tehran Stock Exchange (TSE) and publishes no securities index of its own; exchange closing prices shown for tracked listed companies are public reference data (TSETMC / IFB). Tehran Index publishes independent research: every claim is sourced, every named company is resolved to the registry, and every figure carries its evidence state. It is not investment, legal or compliance advice. Tehran Index covers business, technology and markets only. © 2026 Tehran Index. All rights reserved.

HomeSearchWatchlistSignalsMore
Companies›Takhfifan

Takhfifan

E-commerceGroup buying / DealsIn the registry
Entity IDIR-CO-2196
SectorE-commerce
Founded2011
HQTehran
VerificationReported
Last reviewed2026-08-01

Iran's first and largest group-buying and discount platform founded 2011. Offers daily deals across restaurants; retail; and services. Applied for IPO. Portfolio company of Pomegranate Investment.

Doing business with Takhfifan? Check who legally owns and runs it: registry identity, capital and current board from the Official Gazette, in English with the Persian source, in three working days for USD 750. Full dossier with audited figures and competitors, USD 3,000. Order a Takhfifan registry check · see a free sample

MetricsBusinessOwnershipSources
Operating metrics, period-stamped
Merchant network and transaction growth (to March 2025)Month to 20 March 2025, merchant count to April 2025Third-party reported
Around 30,000 merchants nationwide. In the month to 20 March 2025 monthly transactions rose 69% and offline cashback grew 90%, while gross merchandise value was flat year on year. Loan requests through Takhfifan Pay reached a record in the same year.
Pomegranate Investment AB (publ), audited Annual Report 2024/25 ↗ · retrieved 2026-08-13Note the divergence: transactions up sharply while GMV was flat, which points to more, smaller baskets rather than growth in value. Both figures are as reported.
Merchant networkTo April 2025Third-party reported
Approximately 30,000 merchants nationwide
Pomegranate Investment AB (publ), audited annual report 2024-25 ↗ · retrieved 2026-09-01Reported by a listed shareholder.
Transaction growth against flat merchandise valueFebruary to March 2025Third-party reported
Monthly transactions up 69 percent year on year and offline cashback up 90 percent, while merchandise value was flat
Pomegranate Investment AB (publ), audited annual report 2024-25 ↗ · retrieved 2026-09-01The divergence is the point and the source notes it: many more transactions moving the same total value means basket sizes fell sharply. In an inflationary year that is a real-terms contraction in what each customer spends.
RevenueYears ended 20 March 2025 and 19 March 2024Official record
53.0 billion toman (530,472 million rial), after 51.4 billion toman (514,095 million rial) the year before
Tosee Fanavari Armani venture fund, audited financial statements for the year to 20 March 2026, note 11-2, Codal tracing number 1544915 ↗ · retrieved 2026-09-02Revenue up 3 percent year on year. Disclosed by a shareholder, the Armani venture fund, in the investee summary its audit regime requires; Takhfifan does not publish accounts. The fund names the company as فناوری هوشمند آریا, a truncation of the registered آرمان فناوری هوشمند آریا; no company exists under the shorter name and the share count fits the registered entity's 10 rial par. No dollar equivalent is given: no sourced period rate exists for these periods.
Net lossYears ended 20 March 2025 and 19 March 2024Official record
10.5 billion toman (104,682 million rial), after a loss of 6.4 billion toman (63,774 million rial) the year before
Tosee Fanavari Armani venture fund, audited financial statements for the year to 20 March 2026, note 11-2, Codal tracing number 1544915 ↗ · retrieved 2026-09-02The loss widened 64 percent on flat revenue. Consistent with Pomegranate Investment writing its Takhfifan carrying value down 70.7 percent in the year to April 2025.
Balance sheet20 March 2025 and 19 March 2024Official record
Assets 127.7 billion toman, liabilities 98.0 billion toman, equity 29.7 billion toman (1,276,766, 980,078 and 296,688 million rial); a year earlier 81.0, 40.8 and 40.1 billion toman
Tosee Fanavari Armani venture fund, audited financial statements for the year to 20 March 2026, note 11-2, Codal tracing number 1544915 ↗ · retrieved 2026-09-02Both years reconcile exactly. Liabilities rose 2.4 times in the year and equity fell by a quarter; the roll-forward (401,369 less the 104,682 loss) gives 296,687 against a stated 296,688, so no capital came in during the year.
Shareholder carrying value30 April 2021 to 30 April 2025Company disclosed
EUR 0.30M → EUR 0.62M → EUR 1.77M → EUR 1.31M → EUR 0.38M
Pomegranate Investment AB (publ), annual reports 2021 to 2025 ↗ · retrieved 2026-09-02Written down 71 percent in the year to April 2025, to 0.3 percent of the portfolio. The valuation basis also moved, from post-money after an investment round to enterprise-value-to-sales multiples of listed peers, so the last two readings are not on the same footing as the earlier ones.
Business model & group
Business model shift from group discounts to cashbackTo 30 April 2025Third-party reported
Described by its shareholder as having evolved from Iran's first group discount platform into a combined online and offline cashback business, offering merchants customer acquisition and retention tools alongside consumer discounts. Revenue is diversifying across cashback, marketing solutions and core commercial lines.
Pomegranate Investment AB (publ), audited Annual Report 2024/25 ↗ · retrieved 2026-08-13Relevant to sector classification: this profile sits under e-commerce, and the company now describes itself as a cashback and merchant-marketing business rather than a deals site.
Competition Council decision 531 condemned the operator, fined it 5.962 billion rial and ordered the Netbarg transfer unwound; the ruling was later quashed on appealMerger early 2020; Council decision 20 December 2022, announced 25 December 2022; quashed on appeal 21 April 2025Official record
Takhfifan and Netbarg merged in early 2020 under a single owner, Arman Fanavari Hooshmand Aria. On 20 December 2022, at its session 531, Iran's Competition Council ruled unanimously against that owner on a complaint by Parsi Mehr Nami Iranian, which trades as Takhfish. It found three anti-competitive practices under Article 45 of the Law on Implementation of the General Policies of Article 44: inducing shared commercial partners to refuse to deal with the complainant (paragraph a(2)), dealing on condition that counterparties refuse to deal with a competitor (paragraph f(3)), and abuse of a dominant position by raising barriers to entry and eliminating rivals (paragraph i(4)). It ordered the conduct stopped under Article 61, imposed the maximum fine under Article 61(12), 5.962 billion rial in three parts, ordered the decision publicised, and, treating the common ownership of the two brands as a breach of the merger prohibition in Article 47, ordered the agreement transferring Netbarg to Arman Fanavari Hooshmand Aria rescinded and the shares returned. The decision was appealable within 20 days. It was appealed, and quashed in April 2025: see the next entry.
Competition Council, decisions of session 531, dated 29 Azar 1401 ↗ · retrieved 2026-09-03Read against the numbered decision. The decision is dated 20 December 2022; the Council's press announcement followed on 25 December. The fine is itemised: 3,180 million rial for paragraph a(2), 1,590 million for f(3), 1,192 million for i(4), total 5,962,000,000 rial, set at the statutory maximum by analogy with Articles 131 and 134 of the Islamic Penal Code on multiple offences arising from one act, under Cabinet decree 802794/T56393H of 9 November 2019. Dollar conversion: the tgju free-market close for 20 December 2022 was 396,330 rial per dollar, giving $15,043. The announcement is at https://www.nicc.gov.ir/center/news-center/1546-2022-12-25-09-46-29.html.
Chief executive, and the succession behind itCurrent, in post since at latest April 2025Official record
Negin Daneshvar, a co-founder, is chief executive. She is recorded as مدیرعامل in the company registry under a filing of 8 April 2025, and was introduced as chief executive of Takhfifan on the record at a Bank Keshavarzi innovation event on 28 October 2025. She is the third holder of the post: her sister Nazanin Daneshvar co-founded the company and led it from 2011 until 2023, when she left the executive role and emigrated; Ehsan Jahani was appointed chief executive in mid-2023 and was announced as such by the company's Swedish shareholder in December 2023.
National Company Registry via Rasmio, corroborated by Sanat Mali reporting an on-record appearance ↗ · retrieved 2026-09-01Opened as a verification because the registry named Negin Daneshvar while a December 2023 shareholder announcement named Ehsan Jahani, which read as a registry-versus-operational conflict. It is not one. It is a straight three-person succession, and the two sources describe different points in it. The registry filing postdates the Jahani announcement by sixteen months and a third-party report six months later agrees with the registry.
Appeal board quashed the Netbarg ruling; the fine and the unwinding order never took effectAppeal filed 6 February 2023; quashed 21 April 2025; remand refused 10 June 2025; no further decision published as of 2 September 2026Official record
Arman Fanavari Hooshmand Aria was notified of decision 531 on 17 January 2023 and appealed on 6 February 2023. On 21 April 2025 the Competition Council's Appeal Board, in decision 184/03, quashed the ruling in full and sent the case back. Its grounds: the Council had not stated the reasons for its findings, which deprived the parties of a two-tier review; the Council's own experts had said they could not conclusively analyse whether monopoly power had been created; under Article 48 note 2 the Council must first define the threshold of severe concentration it was applying, and a merger that is the only way to keep a business alive is permitted even where it concentrates the market; and the refusal-to-deal finding was a judicial matter on which the ruling gave no explanation. The Board's decision is final. On 10 June 2025, at session 752, the Council unanimously declined to re-hear the case, holding that once the Board quashes a decision it must decide the merits itself, and returned the file to the Board. As of 2 September 2026 the Board has published no decision on the merits. The fine and the order to unwind the Netbarg transfer were therefore vacated, and the complaint is unresolved between the two bodies.
Competition Council Appeal Board, decision 184/03, dated 1 Ordibehesht 1404, case 20/10/747 ↗ · retrieved 2026-09-03Located on 3 September 2026 by a search of all 120 published Appeal Board decisions and Council sessions 726 to 859 for the party names. Session 752 is at https://www.nicc.gov.ir/council/decisions-council/2355-752-20-1404.html. This answers why both brands still sit with one operator: the order to separate them was never final. The Board's reasoning also tells a reader something about the regulator: two and a half years to hear an appeal, then a jurisdictional standoff over who must decide the merits.
Ownership & capital
Foreign shareholderAs at 30 April 2025; direct stake also read at 31 October 2023 and 30 April 2024Official record
Pomegranate Investment AB, a Swedish listed investor, held 21.9 percent of Takhfifan directly at 30 April 2025, plus a 3.2 percent look-through economic interest through International Internet Investment Cooperatief, a Dutch entity in which it owns 28.72 percent, for a combined economic interest of about 25.1 percent. The direct holding was carried at a fair value of EUR 383,000 and the direct and indirect holdings together at EUR 0.4 million, against a model valuation of the whole company of 1,608 billion rial, or EUR 1.7 million at the spot rate of 922,450 rial to the euro used by the investor at that date. The direct stake was 21.3 percent at 31 October 2023 and 21.9 percent at 30 April 2024, so it has been stable across three reporting dates.
Pomegranate Investment AB (publ), audited annual report 2024-25, Takhfifan page and IIIC look-through table; direct-stake footnote also read in the report for the six months ended 31 October 2023 and the annual report 2023-24 ↗ · retrieved 2026-09-07Read in full, the footnote to the IIIC look-through table assigns 2.3 percent to Digikala and 21.3 or 21.9 percent to Takhfifan depending on the date. Fair value fell 71 percent in euro terms over 2024-25 on a new revenue-multiple model valuation, not on a change in the stake.
Domestic venture investor exited11 August 2025Third-party reported
Sarava Partners, the company's long-standing venture backer, exited completely, transferring its holding to the founders
Ecomotive ↗ · retrieved 2026-09-01A widely repeated 36 percent figure for the Sarava stake traces only to secondary listicles and is not carried here. What is carried is the exit itself and its date.
Foreign minority interest via a holding vehicleAs at 30 April 2025Official record
A Swedish listed investor holds an indirect look-through economic interest of 3.2% as at 30 April 2025, held through Iran Internet International Holding. The same investor reports having exited its Digikala Group position in the same structure in August 2024.
Pomegranate Investment AB (publ), audited Annual Report 2024/25 ↗ · retrieved 2026-08-13A single minority shareholder's own economic interest, not the company's ownership structure.
Venture-fund shareholder on Codal20 March 2026Official record
Tosee Fanavari Armani venture fund (Codal symbol فناوری جسورانه) holds 6,487,803,224 shares at a cost of 347,038,128,576 rial, carried at a revalued 364,980,426,171 rial, 35.29 percent of the fund's book
Tosee Fanavari Armani venture fund, audited financial statements for the year to 20 March 2026, note 11, Codal tracing number 1544915 ↗ · retrieved 2026-09-02First invested 19 January 2020. The fund carries investments at revalued amounts, so the book figure is the fund's own valuation, not a transaction price. Against the registered capital of 526,266,498,670 rial at 10 rial par, the holding is about 12.3 percent of Takhfifan; that percentage is derived and the filing does not state it. The fund's term was extended to 9 February 2027 and it is to be liquidated after that, per its performance report on the same letter.
Source ledger, every field, its evidence
Foreign shareholderOfficial recordAs at 30 April 2025; direct stake also read at 31 October 2023 and 30 April 2024
Pomegranate Investment AB, a Swedish listed investor, held 21.9 percent of Takhfifan directly at 30 April 2025, plus a 3.2 percent look-through economic interest through International Internet Investment Cooperatief, a Dutch entity in which it owns 28.72 percent, for a combined economic interest of about 25.1 percent. The direct holding was carried at a fair value of EUR 383,000 and the direct and indirect holdings together at EUR 0.4 million, against a model valuation of the whole company of 1,608 billion rial, or EUR 1.7 million at the spot rate of 922,450 rial to the euro used by the investor at that date. The direct stake was 21.3 percent at 31 October 2023 and 21.9 percent at 30 April 2024, so it has been stable across three reporting dates.
Pomegranate Investment AB (publ), audited annual report 2024-25, Takhfifan page and IIIC look-through table; direct-stake footnote also read in the report for the six months ended 31 October 2023 and the annual report 2023-24 ↗ · retrieved 2026-09-07retrieved 2026-09-07
Merchant network and transaction growth (to March 2025)Third-party reportedMonth to 20 March 2025, merchant count to April 2025
Around 30,000 merchants nationwide. In the month to 20 March 2025 monthly transactions rose 69% and offline cashback grew 90%, while gross merchandise value was flat year on year. Loan requests through Takhfifan Pay reached a record in the same year.
Pomegranate Investment AB (publ), audited Annual Report 2024/25 ↗ · retrieved 2026-08-13retrieved 2026-08-13
Business model shift from group discounts to cashbackThird-party reportedTo 30 April 2025
Described by its shareholder as having evolved from Iran's first group discount platform into a combined online and offline cashback business, offering merchants customer acquisition and retention tools alongside consumer discounts. Revenue is diversifying across cashback, marketing solutions and core commercial lines.
Pomegranate Investment AB (publ), audited Annual Report 2024/25 ↗ · retrieved 2026-08-13retrieved 2026-08-13
Domestic venture investor exitedThird-party reported11 August 2025
Sarava Partners, the company's long-standing venture backer, exited completely, transferring its holding to the founders
Ecomotive ↗ · retrieved 2026-09-01retrieved 2026-09-01
Merchant networkThird-party reportedTo April 2025
Approximately 30,000 merchants nationwide
Pomegranate Investment AB (publ), audited annual report 2024-25 ↗ · retrieved 2026-09-01retrieved 2026-09-01
Foreign minority interest via a holding vehicleOfficial recordAs at 30 April 2025
A Swedish listed investor holds an indirect look-through economic interest of 3.2% as at 30 April 2025, held through Iran Internet International Holding. The same investor reports having exited its Digikala Group position in the same structure in August 2024.
Pomegranate Investment AB (publ), audited Annual Report 2024/25 ↗ · retrieved 2026-08-13retrieved 2026-08-13
Transaction growth against flat merchandise valueThird-party reportedFebruary to March 2025
Monthly transactions up 69 percent year on year and offline cashback up 90 percent, while merchandise value was flat
Pomegranate Investment AB (publ), audited annual report 2024-25 ↗ · retrieved 2026-09-01retrieved 2026-09-01
Competition Council decision 531 condemned the operator, fined it 5.962 billion rial and ordered the Netbarg transfer unwound; the ruling was later quashed on appealOfficial recordMerger early 2020; Council decision 20 December 2022, announced 25 December 2022; quashed on appeal 21 April 2025
Takhfifan and Netbarg merged in early 2020 under a single owner, Arman Fanavari Hooshmand Aria. On 20 December 2022, at its session 531, Iran's Competition Council ruled unanimously against that owner on a complaint by Parsi Mehr Nami Iranian, which trades as Takhfish. It found three anti-competitive practices under Article 45 of the Law on Implementation of the General Policies of Article 44: inducing shared commercial partners to refuse to deal with the complainant (paragraph a(2)), dealing on condition that counterparties refuse to deal with a competitor (paragraph f(3)), and abuse of a dominant position by raising barriers to entry and eliminating rivals (paragraph i(4)). It ordered the conduct stopped under Article 61, imposed the maximum fine under Article 61(12), 5.962 billion rial in three parts, ordered the decision publicised, and, treating the common ownership of the two brands as a breach of the merger prohibition in Article 47, ordered the agreement transferring Netbarg to Arman Fanavari Hooshmand Aria rescinded and the shares returned. The decision was appealable within 20 days. It was appealed, and quashed in April 2025: see the next entry.
Competition Council, decisions of session 531, dated 29 Azar 1401 ↗ · retrieved 2026-09-03retrieved 2026-09-03
Chief executive, and the succession behind itOfficial recordCurrent, in post since at latest April 2025
Negin Daneshvar, a co-founder, is chief executive. She is recorded as مدیرعامل in the company registry under a filing of 8 April 2025, and was introduced as chief executive of Takhfifan on the record at a Bank Keshavarzi innovation event on 28 October 2025. She is the third holder of the post: her sister Nazanin Daneshvar co-founded the company and led it from 2011 until 2023, when she left the executive role and emigrated; Ehsan Jahani was appointed chief executive in mid-2023 and was announced as such by the company's Swedish shareholder in December 2023.
National Company Registry via Rasmio, corroborated by Sanat Mali reporting an on-record appearance ↗ · retrieved 2026-09-01retrieved 2026-09-01
Appeal board quashed the Netbarg ruling; the fine and the unwinding order never took effectOfficial recordAppeal filed 6 February 2023; quashed 21 April 2025; remand refused 10 June 2025; no further decision published as of 2 September 2026
Arman Fanavari Hooshmand Aria was notified of decision 531 on 17 January 2023 and appealed on 6 February 2023. On 21 April 2025 the Competition Council's Appeal Board, in decision 184/03, quashed the ruling in full and sent the case back. Its grounds: the Council had not stated the reasons for its findings, which deprived the parties of a two-tier review; the Council's own experts had said they could not conclusively analyse whether monopoly power had been created; under Article 48 note 2 the Council must first define the threshold of severe concentration it was applying, and a merger that is the only way to keep a business alive is permitted even where it concentrates the market; and the refusal-to-deal finding was a judicial matter on which the ruling gave no explanation. The Board's decision is final. On 10 June 2025, at session 752, the Council unanimously declined to re-hear the case, holding that once the Board quashes a decision it must decide the merits itself, and returned the file to the Board. As of 2 September 2026 the Board has published no decision on the merits. The fine and the order to unwind the Netbarg transfer were therefore vacated, and the complaint is unresolved between the two bodies.
Competition Council Appeal Board, decision 184/03, dated 1 Ordibehesht 1404, case 20/10/747 ↗ · retrieved 2026-09-03retrieved 2026-09-03
RevenueOfficial recordYears ended 20 March 2025 and 19 March 2024
53.0 billion toman (530,472 million rial), after 51.4 billion toman (514,095 million rial) the year before
Tosee Fanavari Armani venture fund, audited financial statements for the year to 20 March 2026, note 11-2, Codal tracing number 1544915 ↗ · retrieved 2026-09-02retrieved 2026-09-02
Net lossOfficial recordYears ended 20 March 2025 and 19 March 2024
10.5 billion toman (104,682 million rial), after a loss of 6.4 billion toman (63,774 million rial) the year before
Tosee Fanavari Armani venture fund, audited financial statements for the year to 20 March 2026, note 11-2, Codal tracing number 1544915 ↗ · retrieved 2026-09-02retrieved 2026-09-02
Balance sheetOfficial record20 March 2025 and 19 March 2024
Assets 127.7 billion toman, liabilities 98.0 billion toman, equity 29.7 billion toman (1,276,766, 980,078 and 296,688 million rial); a year earlier 81.0, 40.8 and 40.1 billion toman
Tosee Fanavari Armani venture fund, audited financial statements for the year to 20 March 2026, note 11-2, Codal tracing number 1544915 ↗ · retrieved 2026-09-02retrieved 2026-09-02
Shareholder carrying valueCompany disclosed30 April 2021 to 30 April 2025
EUR 0.30M → EUR 0.62M → EUR 1.77M → EUR 1.31M → EUR 0.38M
Pomegranate Investment AB (publ), annual reports 2021 to 2025 ↗ · retrieved 2026-09-02retrieved 2026-09-02
Venture-fund shareholder on CodalOfficial record20 March 2026
Tosee Fanavari Armani venture fund (Codal symbol فناوری جسورانه) holds 6,487,803,224 shares at a cost of 347,038,128,576 rial, carried at a revalued 364,980,426,171 rial, 35.29 percent of the fund's book
Tosee Fanavari Armani venture fund, audited financial statements for the year to 20 March 2026, note 11, Codal tracing number 1544915 ↗ · retrieved 2026-09-02retrieved 2026-09-02

Last full review: 2026-08-01 · Tehran Index research desk · corrections: desk@tehranindex.com

Work with this record
All Takhfifan signalsEvidence Library

Alerts, company comparisons, and full-history exports are joining the partner workspace. Request access →

Registered entity
Legal entityArman Fanavari Hooshmand Aria
Registered26 November 2017
Registered capital526.27 billion IRR

Registered capital is the share capital recorded in the official gazette. Increases are real corporate events, but they are commonly funded from retained earnings or converted receivables and are also driven by inflation and regulatory minimums. It is not a valuation, and Tehran Index does not present it as one.

Evidence & verification
Verification tierReported, single public source
Primary evidencetakhfifan.com
Registry identifiersWithheld for compliance

Fields on this profile derive from linked public sources or the official company registry; unknown values stay blank rather than guessed, and estimates are always labelled. How we verify →

Quick facts
Tehran, Iran
Founded 2011
takhfifan.comLinkedIn
Company dossier

Registry check on Takhfifan: legal entity, capital, board and managing director from the Official Gazette. USD 750, three working days. Full dossier with audited figures, competitors and risks: USD 3,000, five working days.

Order a registry checkOrder the full dossier
TI Weekly. Five source-linked developments and one analysis note, every Friday.