Tehran IndexTehran Index
Live

Research layer for Iran's digital economy

Dashboard
Research
CompaniesSectorsEcosystemSignalsEvidenceInsights
Data products
App IndexForeign ExposureListed CompaniesThe Tehran Index
Workspace
SearchWatchlistMy Desk
Governance
MethodologyScope & StandardsData termsAbout
TI Weekly. Five source-linked developments and one analysis note, every Friday.
Institutional access
Tehran IndexTehran Index
Tehran IndexTehran IndexMapping Iran’s Innovation Economy
Explore
CompaniesSectorsSignals
Standards
MethodologyScope & StandardsThe BenchmarkCorrectionsData termsPrivacyAboutInstitutional access
Contact
desk@tehranindex.comLinkedIn

Tehran Index is not affiliated with the Tehran Stock Exchange (TSE) and publishes no securities index of its own; exchange closing prices shown for tracked listed companies are public reference data (TSETMC / IFB). Tehran Index publishes independent research: every claim is sourced, every named company is resolved to the registry, and every figure carries its evidence state. It is not investment, legal or compliance advice. Tehran Index covers business, technology and markets only. © 2026 Tehran Index. All rights reserved.

HomeSearchWatchlistSignalsMore
Insights›Data
Tehran Index · Insights

Iran’s Instagram Shops Are as Large as Its E-Commerce Platforms

The Tehran E-Commerce Association has published the first national measurement of Iranian retail, and it lands two findings at once. Online retail is 4.8 percent of the country's retail spending, well below what the conversation assumes. And the Instagram shop economy, at about 89 thousand billion toman, is of the same size as the formal platform sector it is usually treated as a footnote to. The study also contradicts the share figure Digikala published for the same year.

DataSeptember 12, 2026·8 min read
ShareXLinkedIn
Key takeaways
  • The Tehran E-Commerce Association measured total Iranian retail spending at 1,648.6 thousand billion toman for the year to 20 March 2025, against 1,219.2 the year before, and puts online retail at 4.8 percent of it, or 5.6 percent if gold is excluded. This is the first national denominator Tehran Index has been able to cite; every market-share figure in circulation until now came from a company describing its own market.
  • The Instagram shop economy is as large as the platform channel. From a study of about 130,000 active shops, surveyed by telephone and SMS on a stratified sample, the report puts social commerce at about 89 thousand billion toman for the same year. Tehran Index arithmetic on the report's own two figures, 4.8 percent of 1,648.6, puts formal online retail at about 79. The report calls the two comparable, and that is the finding: the platform figure covers the association's member platforms rather than every formal seller, and the Instagram figure is a modelled estimate, so the numbers support a comparison of the measured samples and not a ranking of the whole channels.
  • Digikala's own annual report for the year to 20 March 2025 says online retail is 6.4 percent of total Iranian retail. The association says 4.8 percent. The company figure is a third higher. Neither publishes a reconciliation, and the two may not use the same denominator: a wider one that takes in food and services changes the numerator as well as the base, so the direction of the gap cannot be inferred from scope alone. Both figures now sit on the Digikala record with their sources.
  • The two channels have divided the market by product type rather than by size. Formal platforms hold standardised, higher-priced goods where warranty and returns matter: mobile phones, digital goods, gold. Social commerce leads visual and taste-driven goods, with fashion and apparel alone at about 24.1 thousand billion toman on Instagram, roughly five times what the platforms sell in that category. About 57 percent of these businesses also have physical premises, so for most the account is a channel and not the company.
  • Credit is now a quarter of platform spending. Buy now, pay later rose from 2 percent of platform sales value in the year to March 2021 to 25 percent in the year to March 2025.
  • Tehran province accounts for 47.7 percent of platform sales, which the report frames as decentralisation against earlier years. Per person, Tehran spent about 2.9 million toman on these platforms in the year, against 1.48 million in Alborz and 1.03 million in Gilan, and Tehran households route more than 5 percent of their spending through them.

For a year this desk has published numerators without a denominator. We could tell you what a company sold and not what fraction of the market that was, because no Iranian source measured the market. Every share figure in circulation traced back to a company describing itself. In August the Tehran E-Commerce Association published a 91 page study that does the measurement, says on its own cover that it is the first of its kind in Iran, and it arrived at the desk this week.

It contains two findings worth a reader’s time. The first is that online retail in Iran is much smaller than the conversation around it assumes. The second is that the largest online selling channel in the country may not be a platform at all.

The two channels, in thousand billion toman
1,648.6
Total Iranian retail, year to March 2025
4.8%
Online retail share of it
~89
Instagram shop market, same year
~79
Formal online retail, our arithmetic
The first three are the report’s. The fourth is Tehran Index arithmetic on the first two, 4.8 percent of 1,648.6, and the report does not print it. At the desk’s audited 2024-25 average of about 70,000 toman to the dollar, total retail is about 23.6 billion dollars, the Instagram market about 1.27 billion and formal online retail about 1.13 billion. Dollar figures are ours at a stated rate, never the report’s.

Online retail is 4.8 percent of Iranian retail

What Iranian retail is made of
SpenderYear to Mar 2024Year to Mar 2025Built from
Householdsnot stated839Statistical Centre household survey, corrected
Companies75.9124From listed-company statements, scaled by workforce
Guilds3844.2Trade and services survey
Cooperatives8.99Cooperative statistical yearbook
Governmentnot stated17The state e-procurement system
Total retail spending1,219.21,648.6Excludes food and services
Of which online retailnot stated4.8%5.6 percent if gold is excluded
Thousand billion toman (همت), from the Iran E-Commerce Report published by the Tehran E-Commerce Association, executive summary, page 5, read from the rendered page on 12 September 2026. Food and services are outside the study by design. The online share is built from data the association’s member platforms supplied, so it measures those members rather than every online seller in Iran.

The denominator is built rather than asserted, which is what makes it usable. Household spending comes from the Statistical Centre’s income and expenditure survey, which is a sample and which the report says plainly undercounts eight categories; those were rebuilt from customs import data, industrial workshop data and the World Gold Council consumption series. The scale of that correction is its own lesson: mobile phones came out at 14.1 in the raw survey against about 170 in customs import value for the same year. Company, guild, cooperative and government spending are added on top from four further sources.

Two limits travel with every number above and should never be dropped. Food and other fast-moving consumer goods are excluded, as are services, housing and communications, so this is a retail-goods denominator and not total consumer spending. And the online numerator is built from what the association’s member companies sent in, so it measures those members rather than every online seller in Iran.

The number Digikala published does not match

This is where an outside measurement earns its keep. The Digikala record on this site carries a figure from the company’s own annual report for the year to 20 March 2025: online retail is 6.4 percent of total Iranian retail. The association, measuring the same country in the same year, puts it at 4.8 percent. The company’s figure is a third higher than the association’s.

We are not in a position to say which is right, and we will not pretend otherwise. Neither publishes a full reconciliation, and the denominators may differ. A wider definition of retail, one that takes in food and services, changes the online numerator as well as the base, so the direction of the effect cannot be read off the denominator alone; scope may explain the gap, and it may not. What we can say is that the gap exists, that it sits between a company describing its own market and a trade body measuring it, and that until this month only the first of those two numbers existed. Both are now on the Digikala record, next to each other, with their sources.

The other channel has no platform

The report’s second chapter sizes social commerce, and it is the part that should change how people talk about Iranian e-commerce. About 130,000 active Instagram shops were identified and their observable data pulled for the seven years to March 2025; the owners were then surveyed by telephone and SMS on a stratified sample with Neyman optimal allocation, and the market was estimated from the modelled result.

The estimate is about 89 thousand billion toman for the year to 20 March 2025, which the report describes as comparable to, and roughly equal to, the sales of the country’s large e-commerce platforms. On the report’s own two numbers the subtraction can be done, and it is ours rather than theirs: 4.8 percent of 1,648.6 is about 79, a little below the Instagram estimate. That is as far as the evidence goes. The platform figure covers the association’s member platforms, not every formal online seller, and the Instagram figure is a modelled estimate from a survey sample, so the two numbers support a comparison of what was measured and not a ranking of the channels.

The split between them is by product type rather than by size. Formal platforms are established in standardised, higher-priced goods where a buyer wants a warranty and a return policy: mobile phones, digital goods, gold. Social commerce leads in visual, varied, taste-driven goods. Fashion and apparel alone is about 24.1 thousand billion toman on Instagram, the largest single group, and the report puts that at roughly five times what the online retail platforms sell in the same category. Home and kitchen, art and novelty goods and cosmetics follow, and about two thirds of the value sits in those four groups.

One figure stops this being a story about Instagram replacing shops: about 57 percent of these businesses also have physical premises. For most of them the account is a channel rather than the company.

Two more things in the report that nobody else has

Credit has become a quarter of platform spending. Buy now, pay later went from 2 percent of platform sales value in the year to March 2021 to 25 percent in the year to March 2025. One in four toman spent on these platforms is now borrowed at the checkout. The desk has written about instalment credit from the lenders’ side; this is the first figure we have seen from the retail side.

Tehran is 47.7 percent of platform sales, and the report notes this as decentralisation against earlier years while conceding Tehran remains the centre. Per person, Tehran province spent about 2.9 million toman on association platforms in the year to March 2025, against 1.48 million in Alborz and 1.03 million in Gilan. Tehran households put more than 5 percent of their spending through these platforms, the highest share in the country.

The largest thing Iranians buy is gold

The report’s corrected category table, which we read from the rendered page rather than the text layer, explains something the executive summary only hints at. It gives the online share twice, 4.8 percent including gold and 5.6 percent excluding it, and the reason that gap exists is that jewellery, gold and coins is the single largest category of Iranian household retail spending. It was 25.1 percent of the total in the year to March 2020 and 27.1 percent in the year to March 2025. For at least six years, roughly a quarter of what Iranian households spend on retail goods has gone into gold, and almost none of it is bought on a platform.

Read the rest of that table as shares rather than as amounts, because seven years of Iranian nominal toman figures mostly measure the currency rather than the behaviour. On that basis the shifts between the year to March 2020 and the year to March 2025 are modest and legible: appliances and audiovisual up from 14.4 to 17.4 percent, mobile phones up from 8.4 to 9.9, home and kitchen up from 9.4 to 10.1, while fashion and apparel fell from 16.7 to 14.3 and cosmetics from 9.7 to 6.5. Iranian households moved money toward durable and high-value goods and away from soft goods, which is what households do when they expect the currency to keep falling.

That also sharpens the social commerce finding above rather than softening it. Fashion is the category losing share of the national wallet, and it is simultaneously the largest and fastest part of the Instagram market. The category is not shrinking so much as moving channel.

One column of that table does not add up

We checked the table against itself before using it, which is the desk’s standing rule for any figure that has to reconcile. Six of its seven annual columns sum to their own printed total, several of them exactly. The earliest column, the year to March 2019, does not. Its fourteen categories sum to 82.66 against a printed total of 123.8, a gap of 41 thousand billion toman that no line in the table accounts for.

So every share in this piece is calculated from the year to March 2020 onward, and the first year is excluded. That matters more than a footnote, because the excluded column is the one that would have carried the most dramatic claim available here: on its face it shows gold rising from about 1 percent of retail spending to 27 percent in seven years. That would have been the headline of this piece, and it rests entirely on a column that does not reconcile. On the six columns that do, gold was already a quarter of Iranian retail before the period began. The remaining table, guild spending by trade classification, is still unread and is named in our extraction file rather than used.

Revised 2026-09-14: the title and the channel comparison were brought in line with the evidence after an external review; the platform figure covers member platforms and the Instagram figure is a modelled estimate, so the piece now compares rather than ranks. See Corrections.

Cite as: Tehran Index, “Iran’s Instagram Shops Are as Large as Its E-Commerce Platforms”, 12 September 2026. All market figures from گزارش تجارت الکترونیک ایران, the Iran E-Commerce Report of the Tehran E-Commerce Association, 91 pages, produced 24 August 2026, covering the seven years to 20 March 2025; executive summary pages 5 and 6, confirmed by reading the rendered pages on 12 September 2026. The comparison of about 89 against about 79 is Tehran Index arithmetic on the report’s own two figures and is not printed by the report. The 6.4 percent figure is from Digikala’s own annual report for the year to 20 March 2025, already on the Digikala record. Registry counts n=403 records, 376 public, 303 public companies, 874 public facts, queried 12 September 2026. Dollar equivalents at the desk’s audited 2024-25 average of about 70,000 toman to the dollar, applied only to that year and marked at each use. No company valuation appears here.

Frequently asked

How big is e-commerce in Iran?

On the first national measurement, published by the Tehran E-Commerce Association in August 2026, total Iranian retail spending was 1,648.6 thousand billion toman in the year to 20 March 2025 and online retail was 4.8 percent of it, or 5.6 percent excluding gold. At the desk's audited 2024-25 average of about 70,000 toman to the dollar that is roughly 23.6 billion dollars of retail and about 1.13 billion of formal online retail. Two limits matter: food and other fast-moving consumer goods and all services are excluded by design, and the online figure is built from data the association's member platforms supplied rather than from every online seller in the country.

How big is Instagram shopping in Iran?

About 89 thousand billion toman in the year to 20 March 2025, roughly 1.27 billion dollars at the desk's rate for that year. The estimate comes from identifying about 130,000 active Instagram shops, extracting their observable data for the seven years to March 2025, then surveying owners by telephone and SMS on a stratified sample with Neyman optimal allocation and modelling the result. Fashion and apparel is the largest group at about 24.1 thousand billion toman, which the report puts at roughly five times what formal online retail platforms sell in the same category.

Is social commerce bigger than e-commerce platforms in Iran?

They are comparable, which is the report's own word. On its figures the modelled Instagram estimate is a little above the platform figure. Tehran Index does the subtraction the report does not print: 4.8 percent of 1,648.6 thousand billion toman is about 79, against about 89 for Instagram shops. That comparison is ours, not the association's, and it rests on the association's online figure covering its member platforms rather than every formal online seller, which would push the formal number up by an unknown amount. So the honest reading is a comparison of what was measured, not a ranking of the two channels.

What is Digikala's market share in Iran?

It depends which denominator you use, and that is now a live question rather than a technicality. Digikala's own annual report for the year to 20 March 2025 states that it is 28 percent of online retail and that online retail is 6.4 percent of total Iranian retail. Its chief executive separately put the company at about 30 percent of Iranian e-commerce in a 2026 interview. The Tehran E-Commerce Association, measuring the same year, puts online retail at 4.8 percent of total retail rather than 6.4. Tehran Index publishes both figures on the company record with their sources and does not adjudicate between them.

How much of Iranian online shopping is bought on credit?

A quarter of it by value. The Tehran E-Commerce Association reports that buy now, pay later rose from 2 percent of platform sales value in the year to March 2021 to 25 percent in the year to March 2025. That is the retail side of a shift Tehran Index has previously covered from the lenders' side, and it is the first figure the desk has seen measured at the checkout rather than at the credit provider.

Related research

DataIran’s Venture Funds File the Same Note Eight Different WaysIran's venture funds file on Codal, and in most of their audited statements sits a note called summary financial information of venture investments. F…DataIran’s Largest Mobile Operator Built a Startup Portfolio Without Spending CashHarkat Aval is the venture arm of Hamrah-e Aval, Iran's largest mobile operator, and it has filed financial statements on Codal twice a year for six y…DataFourteen Iranian Companies Named in Foreign Annual ReportsLarge multinationals describe their own corporate structure in detail, and a group with an Iranian subsidiary or an Iranian partner usually names it,…DataMost of Iran’s Venture-Backed Companies Make a ProfitIranian venture funds are listed issuers, and the audited statements they file on Codal carry a note printing each portfolio company's own revenue and…
Get the rest of the record

This piece is built from the same registry the platform runs on: company records with sourced, period-stamped facts and a link on every claim. Access opens to a limited first cohort. Registering costs nothing, commits you to nothing, and gets a reply from the research desk within two business days.

Register for access
Not ready for that? Get the weekly briefing instead.

Reader discussion

Create an account to comment. Members also get a watchlist and the Friday digest.